How to Choose a Melatonin-Free Sleep Supplement in the UK
In this article
- What does "melatonin-free" mean on a UK label?
- Which ingredients may say anything about tiredness or sleep on a UK label?
- Why can a herbal remedy say "to aid sleep" when a supplement cannot?
- How do you read the magnesium line: elemental or compound?
- What does "green tea extract providing L-theanine" tell you?
- Why is L-tryptophan capped at 220 mg in a UK supplement?
- What else should the label show?
- What do the trials say about the common melatonin-free ingredients?
- Who should ask a pharmacist first?
- What we don't know
- Frequently asked questions
Choosing a melatonin-free sleep supplement in the UK is a label-reading job, because every sleep supplement lawfully sold here is already melatonin-free: the NHS says "Melatonin is available on prescription only", so it cannot be an ingredient of a food supplement.1 The lines to read are the elemental magnesium figure (not the compound weight), whether a botanical extract states the active it provides, the L-tryptophan figure (capped by law at 220 mg a day in a UK food supplement, where the pooled trials found their effect at 1 g or more) and the cautions on the back.2,3
Sources checked on 30 October 2026.
What does "melatonin-free" mean on a UK label?
The NHS describes melatonin as "mainly used to treat short-term sleep problems in people aged 55 and over", usually "for up to 13 weeks".1 Why melatonin is prescription-only in the UK covers the classification.
Which ingredients may say anything about tiredness or sleep on a UK label?
Of the nutrients that appear in sleep blends, two hold authorised wording at 15% or more of the nutrient reference value (NRV): magnesium contributes to a reduction of tiredness and fatigue, to normal functioning of the nervous system and to normal psychological function; pantothenic acid contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue and to normal mental performance.4 Neither says "sleep". L-theanine and L-tryptophan sleep claims were assessed and not authorised, so no label may attach sleep or relaxation wording to them; chamomile, lemon balm, ashwagandha, glycine, valerian and lavender hold no register entry at all.4 Botanical claims submitted in 2008 and never assessed sit on an "on hold" list that, gov.uk says, "may continue to be used in Great Britain", which is why a label may carry a footnote such as "Chamomile contributes to a healthy sleep, supports quality of sleep and supports relaxation".6
Why can a herbal remedy say "to aid sleep" when a supplement cannot?
Because it is a medicine. The MHRA registers traditional herbal medicines (THR); its list dated 27 October 2025 carries indications such as "for the temporary relief of sleep disturbances" and "to aid sleep", each "based on traditional use only". Valerian root appears in around two dozen of those products.5 Of pharmacy sleep aids containing valerian, lavender or an antihistamine the NHS says: "They cannot cure insomnia but may help you sleep better for 1 to 2 weeks. They should not be taken for any longer."7 The MHRA's borderline guidance lists "calms" and "cures insomnia" among medicinal claims.8
How do you read the magnesium line: elemental or compound?
"1,000 mg magnesium glycinate" and "375 mg magnesium" are different kinds of number. The first is the weight of the whole compound; the second is elemental magnesium, the figure that compares with the 375 mg NRV and with the NHS guidance that "having 400mg or less a day of magnesium from supplements is unlikely to cause any harm".9 Bisglycinate is about 10 to 14% magnesium, so 1,000 mg of the compound gives about 100 to 140 mg (types of magnesium). Does magnesium help you sleep has the trials, which pooled to sleep onset 17.36 minutes sooner in 151 older adults, low to very low quality evidence.10
What does "green tea extract providing L-theanine" tell you?
Theanine trials state their dose as theanine: 200 mg a day for four weeks in a trial of 30 adults improved sleep-quality and trait-anxiety scores, the sleep-latency and disturbance subscores against placebo, and a 2025 review of 19 trials and 897 people pooled 18 and found a small to moderate gain in self-rated sleep quality (standardised mean difference 0.43).11 A label reading "green tea leaf extract 200 mg, providing L-theanine" states the weight of the extract; the theanine inside is known only if a figure follows. More on the L-theanine page.
Why is L-tryptophan capped at 220 mg in a UK supplement?
The Tryptophan in Food (England) Regulations 2005 permit L-tryptophan in a food supplement only where it meets European Pharmacopoeia purity criteria and "the recommended daily dose for that food supplement does not exceed 220 mg"; more may be sold only by a pharmacist or a hospital against a doctor's certificate, and Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have matching rules.2 The 2022 pooled analysis (did tryptophan improve sleep in trials?) found less time awake after falling asleep only at 1 g or more: 28.9 minutes against 56.6 under 1 g, with no effect on other sleep measures.3 A label showing more than 220 mg is not a lawful UK food supplement.
What else should the label show?
| Label line | What to look for | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Per-ingredient amounts | A milligram figure for every active, not a "proprietary blend" total | Needed to set any line against a trial dose |
| Elemental magnesium | The elemental figure and its % NRV | Compound weights overstate the dose several-fold |
| Botanical standardisation | Active content (withanolide %, apigenin %) or an extract ratio | "Extract" alone is a weight, not a strength |
| L-tryptophan | 220 mg or less per daily dose | The UK legal maximum2 |
| Cautions | Pregnancy and breastfeeding; sedatives; antidepressants; thyroid medicines where ashwagandha is present; medical supervision; not for under-18s | See below |
What do the trials say about the common melatonin-free ingredients?
Glycine: 3 g before bed shortened time to fall asleep in a small sleep-lab study and lessened next-day tiredness after cut-short sleep in a study run at a glycine maker (the glycine page).15 Chamomile: 12 trials pooled to better self-rated sleep (standardised mean difference -0.73), while the one double-blind insomnia trial, 34 adults on 270 mg of extract twice daily for 28 days, found no significant difference on any sleep-diary measure (the chamomile page).12 Valerian: in a review of 16 studies, the six that scored sleep as improved or not gave a relative risk of improvement of 1.8, with publication bias noted.13 Ashwagandha: five trials of 400 people pooled to a small effect, larger at 600 mg a day for eight weeks or more.14 The full table is on which sleep supplements have evidence behind them, inside the Wellgard sleep guide.
Who should ask a pharmacist first?
Anyone on an antidepressant or other serotonergic medicine (SSRIs, MAOIs, St John's wort), because L-tryptophan and 5-HTP add to serotonin and the combination risks serotonin syndrome;17 anyone on sedatives or sleeping tablets, because these herbs are taken for a calming effect and the combinations are untested; anyone pregnant or breastfeeding, since the NHS says not all "natural" remedies are safe in pregnancy;16 anyone with thyroid disease or on levothyroxine, since ashwagandha raised T4 modestly across 23 pooled trials; and anyone with liver disease, since a 2026 review of 25 ashwagandha liver-injury cases recorded three deaths, all in people with cirrhosis.14 Who should not take ashwagandha goes deeper. See a GP, the NHS says, if "changing your sleeping habits has not helped your insomnia" or "you've had trouble sleeping for months".7
What we don't know
Whether 220 mg of tryptophan, the most a UK supplement may recommend, changes sleep: the pooled effect was at 1 g or more.3 How a blend compares with its single ingredients: the 2025 theanine review found few trials of theanine on its own.11
Frequently asked questions
Is there a sleep supplement I can take every night?
The trials above ran from a single night to a few months; long-term use has not been studied. For nightly use, stay within the label dose, keep to one product containing magnesium, and ask a pharmacist if any medicine is involved.
Does the format matter: gummies, capsules or powders?
Sleep powders, gummies, capsules, teas and drops differ in dose per serving and convenience. Read each label's per-serving figures against the trial doses above.
What is "10 times stronger than melatonin"?
No trial has compared a food supplement ingredient with melatonin; each has its own result in its own units, from minutes to questionnaire points.
Sources
- NHS. About melatonin. Reviewed 13 February 2023. nhs.uk/medicines/melatonin/about-melatonin
- The Tryptophan in Food (England) Regulations 2005, SI 2005/2630, regulation 5, and the matching Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland regulations of 2005. legislation.gov.uk
- Sutanto CN, Loh WW, Kim JE. The impact of tryptophan supplementation on sleep quality: a systematic review, meta-analysis, and meta-regression. Nutrition Reviews, 2022. Systematic review, 18 articles, 4 pooled; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 33942088
- Great Britain nutrition and health claims (NHC) register, last updated 19 May 2026. gov.uk
- MHRA. Traditional herbal registrations granted, with indications, 27 October 2025. gov.uk (PDF)
- On hold health claims on foods, last updated 12 January 2021. gov.uk
- NHS. Insomnia. Reviewed 19 March 2024. nhs.uk/conditions/insomnia
- MHRA. Guidance Note 8: a guide to what is a medicinal product, published September 2025. gov.uk (PDF)
- NHS. Vitamins and minerals: others (magnesium). Reviewed 3 August 2020. nhs.uk/conditions/vitamins-and-minerals/others
- Mah J, Pitre T. Oral magnesium supplementation for insomnia in older adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis. BMC Complementary Medicine and Therapies, 2021. Meta-analysis, 3 trials, 151 older adults; no conflicts declared. PubMed 33865376
- Hidese S, et al. Effects of L-theanine administration on stress-related symptoms and cognitive functions in healthy adults. Nutrients, 2019. Randomised double-blind crossover, 30 adults; tablets from the theanine maker, which employed two authors. PubMed 31623400; Bulman A, et al. The effects of L-theanine consumption on sleep outcomes: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Sleep Medicine Reviews, 2025. Systematic review, 19 trials, 897 people; university-funded. PubMed 40056718
- Hieu TH, et al. Therapeutic efficacy and safety of chamomile for state anxiety, generalized anxiety disorder, insomnia, and sleep quality: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Phytotherapy Research, 2019. Systematic review, 12 trials; university-funded. PubMed 31006899; Zick SM, et al. Preliminary examination of the efficacy and safety of a standardized chamomile extract for chronic primary insomnia. BMC Complementary and Alternative Medicine, 2011. Randomised pilot, 34 adults; university and US government grants. PubMed 21939549
- Bent S, et al. Valerian for sleep: a systematic review and meta-analysis. American Journal of Medicine, 2006. Systematic review, 16 trials, 1,093 people; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 17145239
- Fornalik M, et al. Hormonal modulation with Withania somnifera: systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized-controlled trials. Planta Medica, 2026. Meta-analysis, 23 trials, 1,706 adults; no conflicts declared. PubMed 41740946; McIntyre D, et al. Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera)-associated liver injury: a scoping review. Cureus, 2026. Scoping review, 25 cases; no funding. PubMed 42367407; Cheah KL, et al. Effect of ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) extract on sleep: a systematic review and meta-analysis. PLoS One, 2021. Meta-analysis, 5 trials, 400 adults; unfunded. PubMed 34559859
- Yamadera W, et al. Glycine ingestion improves subjective sleep quality in human volunteers. Sleep and Biological Rhythms, 2007. Polysomnography study in volunteers with poor sleep; not on PubMed, so size and funding were not checked. doi.org/10.1111/j.1479-8425.2007.00262.x; Bannai M, et al. The effects of glycine on subjective daytime performance in partially sleep-restricted healthy volunteers. Frontiers in Neurology, 2012. Small randomised crossover; run at a glycine maker. PubMed 22529837
- NHS. Medicines in pregnancy. Updated 23 September 2025. nhs.uk/pregnancy/keeping-well/medicines
- Mikkelsen N, Damkier P, Pedersen SA. Serotonin syndrome: a focused review. Basic & Clinical Pharmacology & Toxicology, 2023. Narrative review; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 37309284
Spotted something out of date? Email support@wellgard.co.uk with the page address and the sentence.