What Happens When You Stop Taking NMN, and Why People Stop
In this article
- What happens to your NAD when you stop?
- How long does NMN take to start working, and how can you tell?
- Why can you only take NMN for 12 weeks?
- How long should you stay on NMN?
- Why do people stop taking NMN?
- Why did a marketplace stop selling NMN?
- Is there any harm in stopping suddenly?
- What we don't know
- Frequently asked questions
Nothing harmful happens when you stop taking NMN. There is no withdrawal and no rebound, because NMN is a step on the vitamin B3 pathway your body runs anyway, and the extra NAD it put into your blood goes back towards your own baseline once dosing stops. No trial has measured people after they stopped, so every day-by-day timeline online is extrapolation. What the trials do show is that blood NAD was higher by the first measurement, at one to four weeks of daily dosing depending on the trial,1, 2, 3 and that the functional findings, led by a longer six-minute walk in a supplier-funded trial of 80 adults at 300 to 900 mg a day over 60 days, were measured while people were still taking it.2, 3, 7 NMN builds nothing structural, so there is nothing to lose; what you keep is whatever walking, sleeping or training you did in the meantime.
Sources checked on 30 October 2026.
- Harm from stopping: none; no dependence, no taper
- What fades: the rise in blood NAD, at a rate no trial has measured
- What you keep: everything that was yours anyway; NMN does not build tissue
- Restarting: the same dose, with food; no loading
What happens to your NAD when you stop?
It goes back towards where it was. In the first human safety study, single doses of 100 to 500 mg raised two nicotinamide breakdown products in the blood over the five hours measured; how fast they cleared was not reported.4 In the 12-week Japanese studies, blood NAD rose on 250 mg a day and the rise was still there at the end, which fits a pool maintained by daily intake rather than filled once.5, 6 Nobody has drawn blood a month after stopping, but your cells make NMN from the nicotinamide in food every day, and when the capsule stops, that is the supply you are back to. A vitamin pathway does not register the difference as withdrawal.
How long does NMN take to start working, and how can you tell?
In the trials, blood NAD was higher by the first measurement, at one to four weeks depending on the dose and when blood was drawn, and stayed up while dosing continued.1, 2, 3, 5 In the supplier-funded 60-day trial, the six-minute walk was longer than placebo at day 30 and at day 60, at every dose from 300 to 900 mg;2 in the 12-week trial of 108 older adults, afternoon drowsiness fell in those taking NMN in the afternoon, though it also fell in the afternoon placebo group.7 So a fair window is the trials' own: 60 to 90 days. How to tell: pick one thing you can score before you start. A timed walk, the stairs at work, how many afternoons a week you nap. Score it in week one and week nine, and change nothing else in between. If it hasn't moved, you have your answer, and nothing in the trials says it needs longer.
Why can you only take NMN for 12 weeks?
You can take it for longer; 12 weeks is how long trials tend to run, not a safety limit. The human studies lasted from two weeks to 24 weeks: 14 days in the high-dose American study, 60 days in the 80-person trial, ten weeks in the prediabetes trial, six or twelve weeks in the Japanese studies, 24 weeks at the longest.1, 8 The "12 weeks" rule circulating online was lifted from those durations and from packs that suggest a 12-week course, and then hardened into a warning. The European Food Safety Authority's 2026 safety opinion considered 300 mg a day of one specified, chemically synthesised ingredient for adults as continuous daily use with no stopping instruction, and excluded only pregnant and breastfeeding women.9
How long should you stay on NMN?
As long as it is doing something you can measure, within the limits of a trial record that stops at 24 weeks. If something moved, the question becomes whether it holds, and no trial has followed people after stopping to say. If nothing moved, there is no evidence that month six will differ from month two. Across 15 pooled trials at 250 to 2,000 mg a day (10 reporting safety data), adverse events, liver enzymes, weight, glucose and lipids did not change.8 A 300 mg daily dose equals the lowest arm of the 60-day trial and the level the European opinion assessed for one specified ingredient; where a formula adds niacin at 15% or more of the reference intake, niacin contributes to normal energy-yielding metabolism.2, 9 What is NMN and is it safe in the UK carries the full trial table, the cancer question, who should not take it and the dated regulatory position; the Wellgard berberine guide covers an ingredient with a far longer trial record.
Why do people stop taking NMN?
Four reasons dominate the forum threads. First, nothing noticed: "no difference after three months" is the commonest reason given for stopping, and it fits the trials, which found a longer walk and a higher blood number rather than anything that announces itself.2 Second, the cancer worry, which rests on a 2019 study in which mice bred to develop pancreatic precancer were injected with NMN;10 a 2025 study in UV-exposed mice found that oral NMN did not affect tumour onset, number, size or growth,11 and in the pooled human trials adverse events did not rise.8 Third, the niacin metabolite paper: in 2024 researchers linked high blood levels of 4PY, a breakdown product of surplus niacin, to cardiovascular events over three years in cohorts of heart patients; NMN is a source of nicotinamide, and three NMN studies have measured 4PY in the blood and seen it rise after dosing, while no trial has followed NMN users for heart events.3, 4, 12, 13 Fourth, pregnancy or planning one, which is the right reason, since the safety assessment excludes it.9 What nobody in the threads reports is stopping because something went wrong while taking it, which matches the trial record.
Why did a marketplace stop selling NMN?
Because of a legal definition in the United States, not a safety finding. A pharmaceutical-grade form of NMN was being developed there as a drug candidate (the compound in the 14-day study above), and US law can exclude from supplements an ingredient first investigated as a drug; the regulator took that view in late 2022, large marketplaces removed listings, and in 2025 it reversed the position.1 The UK position is separate: Great Britain treats NMN as a novel food awaiting authorisation, dated on the page above.
Is there any harm in stopping suddenly?
No. There is nothing to taper. No trial has measured whether NMN changes your own NAD production; your cells kept making NMN from food throughout. Missing a day, a fortnight away, or stopping for good all amount to the same thing: blood NAD goes back towards where it started, at a pace nobody has measured. If you want to restart, take the same dose with food. There is no loading phase and no reason to double up.
What we don't know
No trial has measured blood NAD or any outcome after people stopped taking NMN, so the speed of the return to baseline is unmeasured. The functional findings each rest on a single trial, mostly supplier-funded, and none has been repeated.2, 3, 7 Nobody has studied NMN beyond 24 weeks, and no trial has followed users for heart events, although niacin breakdown products rise in the blood after a dose.8, 12, 13
Frequently asked questions
Will my energy drop when I stop taking NMN?
No trial has measured it. If you noticed fewer afternoon dips while taking it, they may return as blood NAD settles; if you noticed nothing, you will notice nothing.
Should I cycle NMN?
There is no evidence for or against it. The trials dosed daily, for up to 24 weeks.8
Does stopping NMN undo anything?
Nothing was built, so nothing is undone. The six-minute-walk difference was measured during supplementation and has not been followed afterwards.2 The same question for glutathione is answered on how to take glutathione.
Can I skip NMN for a few days?
Yes, as far as the trials can say: they dosed daily, blood NAD was higher by the first measurement, at one to four weeks of daily dosing, and nobody has measured how fast it falls.1, 2, 3
How long does NMN stay in your system?
Within five hours of a single dose its breakdown products had risen in the blood, and in the 14-day study very little unchanged NMN reached the urine; how long the raised NAD pool takes to settle back has not been measured.1, 4
Sources
- Pencina KM, et al. Journals of Gerontology: Series A, 2023. Randomised trial, 32 overweight adults aged 55 to 80, 1,000 mg once or twice daily, 14 days; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 35182418.
- Yi L, et al. GeroScience, 2023. Randomised trial, 80 healthy adults aged 40 to 65, 300 to 900 mg for 60 days; funded by two manufacturers, with manufacturer-employed authors. PubMed 36482258.
- Morifuji M, et al. GeroScience, 2024. Randomised trial, 60 older adults, 250 mg for 12 weeks; authors employed by a food manufacturer. PubMed 38789831.
- Irie J, et al. Endocrine Journal, 2020. Single-arm dose study, 10 healthy men, 100 to 500 mg once; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 31685720.
- Okabe K, et al. Frontiers in Nutrition, 2022. Randomised trial, 30 healthy adults, 250 mg for 12 weeks; supplier-employed co-authors prepared the NMN and placebo. PubMed 35479740.
- Igarashi M, et al. npj Aging, 2022. Randomised trial, 42 healthy men aged 65 and over, 250 mg for 12 weeks; supplier-funded, with supplier-employed authors. PubMed 35927255.
- Kim M, et al. Nutrients, 2022. Randomised trial, 108 older adults, 250 mg for 12 weeks; co-authors employed by the NMN supplier. PubMed 35215405.
- Yang W, et al. Nutrients, 2026. Meta-analysis, 15 randomised trials (10 with safety data), 250 to 2,000 mg a day, 14 days to 24 weeks; no conflicts declared. PubMed 42514320.
- EFSA NDA Panel. Safety of β-NMN as a novel food and source of nicotinamide. EFSA Journal, 11 May 2026. Safety opinion, one specified form, up to 300 mg a day. PubMed 42125559.
- Nacarelli T, et al. Nature Cell Biology, 2019. Mouse and cell study; US government-funded. PubMed 30778219.
- Pihl C, et al. Photochemical & Photobiological Sciences, 2025. Mouse study; no conflicts declared. PubMed 40439965.
- Ferrell M, et al. Nature Medicine, 2024. Cohort study, 4,325 heart patients in three cohorts, three-year follow-up; authors hold diagnostics patents and industry consultancies. PubMed 38374343.
- Wakabayashi J, et al. Scientific Reports, 2026. Crossover dose study, 14 healthy men; authors employed by a food manufacturer. PubMed 42304075.
Spotted something out of date? Email support@wellgard.co.uk with the page address and the sentence.
General information, not medical advice. If you are pregnant, breastfeeding, have had cancer or take medicines, ask your GP or pharmacist before starting or restarting NMN.