Which Fibre Supplement Is Best? Grams per Serving, by Job
In this article
- Do fibre supplements work?
- Which fibre does which job?
- Which fibre supplement is best for constipation?
- Which is best for cholesterol, blood sugar or weight?
- Powder, capsules, gummies, sachets or drinks: what changes?
- Is a pharmacy ispaghula sachet different from a psyllium supplement?
- How do you read a fibre supplement label?
- Who should not take a fibre supplement without advice?
- What we don't know
- Frequently asked questions
No fibre supplement is best for everything; each fibre does a job. Psyllium's gel has the constipation trials, at 10 to 12 g a day for four weeks or more; chicory inulin ferments and carries an authorised bowel wording at 12 g a day; glucomannan has the only authorised weight wording, at 3 g a day with water before meals. Choose the job, then read the grams.1, 2 This page is part of the Wellgard fibre guide.
Evidence at a glance
- Trials: 16 randomised constipation trials pooled (1,251 adults); cholesterol and weight poolings of 8 to 28 trials.
- Largest single trial: 250 adults with constipation, four weeks, five arms.
- Strongest measured outcome: 66% responded to a fibre supplement against 41% on control.
- Not tested: any supplement format against another.
Sources checked on 13 October 2026.
Never take a gel-forming fibre dry: for a pharmacy sachet the NHS says at least 150 ml of cold water, drunk immediately, and not just before sleep.3 Chest pain, vomiting, or difficulty swallowing or breathing after a dose needs urgent help; is psyllium husk safe has the rest.
Do fibre supplements work?
Yes, when the fibre and the dose match the job. In 16 randomised trials of 1,251 adults with chronic constipation, 66% responded to a fibre supplement against 41% on control; psyllium and pectin carried the effect, the response was higher only above 10 g a day, stool frequency improved only after four weeks or more, and wind rose.1 In a four-week trial of 250 adults, no fibre or live-culture arm differed from placebo for frequency, though stools softened in every active arm; a manufacturer supplied the products and part-funded the trial.4
Which fibre does which job?
A gel holds water in the stool; a fermented fibre is broken down by gut bacteria, which makes gas.
| Fibre | Job | Trial dose | What trials measured | Tolerance | Authorised GB wording |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Psyllium (ispaghula) | Gel, barely fermented | 10 to 12 g a day | Constipation, 16 trials1; LDL, 28 trials5 | More wind than control1 | None |
| Methylcellulose | Gel, not fermented | 1 to 4 g a day | Stool frequency, 109 adults6 | Not reported | None |
| Oat beta-glucan | Gel, fermented | 3 g or more a day | LDL, 28 trials7 | Not reported | Cholesterol; post-meal glucose2 |
| Glucomannan (konjac) | Strong gel, fermented | About 3 g a day | LDL, 12 trials8; weight, 8 trials9 | Abdominal discomfort, diarrhoea, constipation9 | Cholesterol; weight, with conditions2 |
| Chicory inulin | Fermented, no gel | 12 g a day | Stool frequency, 44 adults, supplier-funded10 | Not reported | Bowel function at 12 g2 |
| Partially hydrolysed guar gum | Fermented, barely viscous | 5 g a day | Laxative use, 52 care-home residents11 | No difference from control11 | None |
| Acacia (gum arabic) | Fermented, no gel | 10 g a day | Stool frequency in constipation-type IBS, 180 adults12 | Stool form unchanged12 | None |
Which fibre supplement is best for constipation?
Psyllium has the most trials, carrying the pooled response at more than 10 g a day for four weeks or longer.1 Partially hydrolysed guar gum at 5 g a day cut laxative use in care-home residents without changing stool frequency.11 Twelve grams of chicory inulin a day gave a median of four stools a week against three on placebo in 44 constipated adults, in a supplier-funded trial.10 Ten grams of acacia a day raised stool frequency against placebo in 180 adults with constipation-type IBS, without changing stool form.12 In 79 adults, 12 g of psyllium, two kiwifruit and 100 g of prunes a day all raised complete bowel movements over four weeks.13 What psyllium husk does has its trials; the Wellgard constipation guide has the NHS steps.
Which is best for cholesterol, blood sugar or weight?
For cholesterol: oat beta-glucan at 3 g or more a day lowered LDL by 0.25 mmol/L across 28 trials, and "Beta-glucans contribute to the maintenance of normal blood cholesterol levels" is authorised at 3 g a day.2, 7 Glucomannan at about 3 g a day lowered LDL by 0.35 mmol/L across 12 trials; "Glucomannan contributes to the maintenance of normal blood cholesterol levels" applies at 4 g a day.2, 8 Psyllium at a median 10.2 g lowered LDL by 0.33 mmol/L across 28 trials and carries no authorised GB claim.5
For blood sugar, "Consumption of beta-glucans from oats or barley as part of a meal contributes to the reduction of the blood glucose rise after that meal" needs 4 g per 30 g of available carbohydrate.2 For weight, "Glucomannan in the context of an energy restricted diet contributes to weight loss" applies at 3 g a day in three 1 g doses with 1 to 2 glasses of water before meals; across eight trials the pooled change against placebo was 0.22 kg, not statistically significant.2, 9 The register adds to each glucomannan wording: "Warning of choking to be given for people with swallowing difficulties or when ingesting with inadequate fluid intake - advice on taking with plenty of water to ensure substance reaches stomach."2
Powder, capsules, gummies, sachets or drinks: what changes?
The fibre is the same in every format; the grams per serving, the fluid and the habit change, and no trial has compared formats. A level teaspoon of psyllium husk holds about 3 to 5 g and a capsule about 0.5 g. A typical sachet gives 3.5 g against the 10 to 12 g a day the constipation trials used; three inulin gummies give about 4 g against the 12 g of the inulin trial and the register.1, 10 How to take psyllium husk, do fibre gummies work and what is inulin go further.
Is a pharmacy ispaghula sachet different from a psyllium supplement?
The husk is the same: ispaghula, isabgol and psyllium name one seed coat. The law differs. Pharmacy ispaghula sachets are a licensed bulk-forming laxative, so the pack may say what they are for and the NHS page gives the dose; a food-supplement psyllium carries no authorised bowel or cholesterol claim in Great Britain.2, 14 The NHS says a sachet takes 2 to 3 days to work; which laxative suits you is a pharmacist's question.14
How do you read a fibre supplement label?
- The named fibre, not just "fibre".
- Grams of that fibre per serving and per day, against the trial doses above.
- The fluid instruction, and the choking warning on gel-forming fibres.
- Any health wording, with a dose condition the daily serving should meet.
- "Source of fibre" means at least 3 g per 100 g or 1.5 g per 100 kcal; "high fibre" at least 6 g per 100 g or 3 g per 100 kcal.2
Who should not take a fibre supplement without advice?
Tell a doctor or pharmacist first if you have difficulty swallowing or throat problems, tummy pain with sickness or vomiting, bowel muscle weakness, or a change in your poo lasting more than 2 weeks, including blood; under-6s take ispaghula only on prescription.15 Take other medicines more than an hour before or after, and tell your pharmacist about lithium, carbamazepine, digoxin, insulin or other diabetes medicines, mesalazine, or painkillers such as codeine.16 Blood in your poo, weight loss without trying or a sudden change in bowel habit is a GP matter.17
What we don't know
- No randomised trial has compared one supplement format with another at the same grams.
- No trial we found has measured stool frequency at the 4 g a three-gummy inulin serving gives.
- Only one small trial, of 39 adults with loose stools, has set psyllium beside acacia;18 we found none comparing psyllium with inulin or partially hydrolysed guar gum for constipation.
- The partially hydrolysed guar gum trial is small: 52 care-home residents.
Frequently asked questions
Are fibre supplements good to take every day?
For most adults, yes, with enough fluid; the trials here gave fibre daily for up to 12 weeks.1, 7 When ispaghula is taken to raise fibre intake, the NHS says "your doctor may recommend that you take it for many months".3
What are the NHS recommendations for fibre supplements?
The NHS fibre page sets 30 g a day, notes that most adults eat "about 20g", and lists foods; it does not mention supplements.19 Its constipation page sends people to a pharmacist, who "can suggest a suitable laxative".17
Is fibre better in pills or powder?
The fibre is the same and no trial has compared them; a capsule holds about 0.5 g and a teaspoon of husk 3 to 5 g, so the count sets the dose.
Which fibre supplement is best for IBS?
NICE says that if more fibre is advised, "it should be soluble fibre such as ispaghula powder or foods high in soluble fibre", and that insoluble fibre such as bran should be discouraged.20
Sources
- van der Schoot A et al., 2022. Pooled analysis of 16 randomised trials, 1,251 adults. PubMed 35816465
- GB nutrition and health claims register, dated 19 May 2026. Legal register. gov.uk
- NHS. Ispaghula husk: how and when to take it. Page last reviewed 13 January 2026. nhs.uk
- Lai H et al., 2023. Randomised trial, 250 adults, 4 weeks; part-funded and supplied by a manufacturer, three authors at its institute. PubMed 37078654
- Jovanovski E et al., 2018. Pooled analysis of 28 randomised trials, 1,924 people. PubMed 30239559
- Hamilton JW et al., 1988. Clinical trial, 50 healthy and 59 constipated adults; funding not checked. PubMed 2839321
- Whitehead A et al., 2014. Pooled analysis of 28 randomised trials, 2 to 12 weeks; funded by an ingredient company, with a supplier's in-house reports. PubMed 25411276
- Ho HVT et al., 2017. Pooled analysis of 12 trials, 370 people. PubMed 28356275
- Onakpoya I et al., 2014. Pooled analysis of 8 randomised trials. PubMed 24533610
- Micka A et al., 2017. Randomised crossover trial, 44 adults, 4 weeks; supplier-funded, two authors at the manufacturer's institute. PubMed 27492975
- Chan TC et al., 2022. Randomised single-blind trial, 52 care-home residents, 4 weeks; no funding statement, no conflicts declared. PubMed 35297467
- Janssen Duijghuijsen L et al., 2024. Randomised trial, 180 adults with constipation-type IBS, 4 weeks; one author at an acacia supplier. PubMed 38653808
- Chey SW et al., 2021. Partially randomised trial, 79 adults, 4 weeks; funding not checked. PubMed 34074830
- NHS. Ispaghula husk: common questions. Page last reviewed 13 January 2026. nhs.uk
- NHS. Ispaghula husk: who can and cannot take it. Page last reviewed 13 January 2026. nhs.uk
- NHS. Ispaghula husk: other medicines and supplements. Page last reviewed 13 January 2026. nhs.uk
- NHS. Constipation. Page last reviewed 26 October 2023. nhs.uk
- Bliss DZ et al., 2001. Randomised placebo-controlled trial, 39 adults, 31 days; publicly funded. PubMed 11480529
- NHS. How to get more fibre into your diet. Page last reviewed 2 March 2026. nhs.uk
- NICE CG61. Irritable bowel syndrome in adults, recommendation 1.2.1.5. Last updated 4 April 2017. nice.org.uk
Spotted something out of date? Email support@wellgard.co.uk with the page address and the sentence.