Multivitamin With Iron or Without? Who Needs It and Who Checks First
In this article
- How much iron do you need?
- Who benefits from iron in a multivitamin?
- Who should choose a multivitamin without iron?
- Should you test before you choose?
- How to read iron on a label
- Does it matter if the iron is in a gummy, a tablet or a capsule?
- What should you not take with iron?
- Iron and children
- Who should check first
- What we don't know
- Frequently asked questions
Choose by the NHS iron figures and by whether you are low, not by the word "women's" or "men's" on the box. Women aged 19 to 49 need 14.8 mg of iron a day and lose it with every period, so a multivitamin with iron suits most of them, more so with heavy periods; men and women aged 50 and over need 8.7 mg and most get it from food, so a formula without iron is the usual choice unless a blood test shows you are short.1 The trials point the same way: in a Cochrane review of 67 trials in 8,506 menstruating women, daily iron cut the risk of anaemia by 61%, and a 2025 meta-analysis of 1,408 non-anaemic people found the effects on fatigue and cognition were absent once iron-deficient participants were excluded, so the benefit is concentrated in people who are low to start with.2, 4 Haemochromatosis means avoiding iron altogether, and because the NHS says very high doses "can be fatal, particularly if taken by children", any iron product stays out of reach.1, 5 Part of the vitamins and minerals guide.
Evidence at a glance
- Menstruating women: Cochrane review, 67 trials, 8,506 women; anaemia risk ratio 0.39, haemoglobin +5.30 g/L.2
- Non-anaemic, low ferritin: 198 women, 80 mg a day, 12 weeks; fatigue down 47.7% against 28.8% on placebo; no effect on quality of life.3
- Iron-replete pregnancy: 8 trials, 2,822 women; iron deficiency anaemia at term halved (risk ratio 0.51).7
- Not tested: iron at multivitamin doses (about 14 mg) in iron-replete adults; any iron gummy against a tablet (literature searched to 18 October 2026).
Sources checked on 29 October 2026.
How much iron do you need?
The label percentage is of the 14 mg nutrient reference value (NRV), so 100% NRV is close to a woman's need before 50 and about 160% of the 8.7 mg a man or a post-menopausal woman needs.1, 8
| Group | NHS daily amount | What 14 mg (100% NRV) adds |
|---|---|---|
| Women aged 19 to 49 | 14.8 mg | About 95% of the day's need |
| Women 50 and over | 8.7 mg (14.8 mg while periods continue) | About 160% of need; usually not required |
| Men aged 19 and over | 8.7 mg | About 160% of need; usually not required |
| Pregnancy | Checked by blood test at booking and 28 weeks | Iron only if the GP or midwife recommends it |
Who benefits from iron in a multivitamin?
People whose stores are being drawn down. Periods are the main reason: the Cochrane review found daily iron, at any dose and in women mostly not selected for deficiency, cut anaemia (risk ratio 0.39, 10 studies, 3,273 women) and iron deficiency (risk ratio 0.62), with more side effects than placebo.2 The fatigue trials recruited by ferritin, not symptoms: across 1,170 iron-deficient non-anaemic adults, iron improved fatigue (standardised difference -0.38) but not exercise capacity.3, 6 The 2025 meta-analysis of 18 studies found small gains in anxiety, fatigue, physical wellbeing and short-term memory in randomised trials, and that "supplementation effects were absent when excluding ID participants", meaning the iron-deficient ones.4 So iron contributes to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue, the authorised wording, where low iron was the cause.9 Others who draw stores down: vegans and vegetarians, because the NHS says plant iron "is absorbed by the body less well than iron from meat", and women with heavy periods, who the NHS says "may need to take iron supplements"; in pregnancy iron is checked by blood test, and in 8 trials of 2,822 iron-replete women daily iron halved anaemia at term.1, 7, 10, 11
Who should choose a multivitamin without iron?
Men and post-menopausal women, as a default: 8.7 mg is met from food, and iron is one of the few nutrients the body cannot easily excrete.1 Anyone with haemochromatosis, the inherited iron-overload condition, is "usually advised to avoid" iron or vitamin C supplements and breakfast cereals with added iron.5 A no-iron formula is not a lesser product; it is the right amount of iron for those groups, which is none. How to choose a multivitamin for women sets iron beside the other nutrients by life stage.
Should you test before you choose?
If unsure, yes: tiredness has many causes, and the fatigue trials recruited by ferritin, not by how people felt.3, 6 A GP can check a full blood count and ferritin; the trials used a ferritin under 50 micrograms per litre as their entry point, and UK practice treats a lower threshold as deficiency.3 Iron and heavy periods explains the ferritin test and the UK threshold.
How to read iron on a label
The elemental iron per daily portion, in milligrams, with its %NRV; the compound name (ferrous fumarate, sulphate, gluconate and bisglycinate are all permitted forms) tells you the salt, the milligram figure the iron.8, 12 The NHS line for supplements: "taking 17 mg or less a day of iron supplements is unlikely to cause any harm", with a higher dose only if a GP advises it.1 Above 20 mg a day, the Department of Health advisory statement is "this amount of iron may cause mild stomach upset in sensitive individuals".13 And the child-safety statement every UK food supplement must carry, that it should be stored out of the reach of young children.12 How to read a supplement label covers the percentages.
Does it matter if the iron is in a gummy, a tablet or a capsule?
What differs is the amount of iron per piece and the taste masking, not whether the iron works. A gummy carries milligram amounts of a mineral in a pectin or gelatine base, so the label states how many pieces make the daily portion. No published trial has compared an iron gummy with an iron tablet, so no format is described here as gentler or better absorbed. Iron supplements side effects covers dose, form and alternate-day evidence; do vitamin gummies work the format trials that exist.
What should you not take with iron?
Large separate doses of calcium, zinc and magnesium compete with iron for absorption, so a high-dose calcium tablet is better taken at a different meal; the amounts inside one multivitamin are formulated together. Tea and coffee cut absorption, which is why the NHS says to avoid them "during or after" a meal that supplies iron.10 Two medicines carry an NHS note: levothyroxine, where "calcium and iron supplements" may not mix well with it, and doxycycline, where "medicines or supplements that contain iron or zinc" are listed; ask a pharmacist about the gap.15, 16 Vitamin C increases iron absorption, an authorised wording.9
Iron and children
The NHS wording is "very high doses of iron can be fatal, particularly if taken by children, so always keep iron supplements out of the reach of children".1 In the United States, iron poisoning deaths in children under six fell from 29 to 1 in the five years after unit-dose packaging became law.17 Every iron product, gummies included, belongs on a high shelf with the lid closed. If a child has eaten any, call NHS 111, or 999 if they are unwell, and take the pack with you.
Who should check first
Anyone with haemochromatosis or a family history of it; anyone with thalassaemia or sickle cell disease; anyone pregnant, whose iron goes through the midwife; and anyone on levothyroxine or doxycycline, for timing.5, 11, 15, 16
What we don't know
- Whether 14 mg a day changes anything measurable in an adult whose iron is normal: the trials used treatment doses in people with low ferritin.3, 4, 6
- The long-term effect of unneeded iron at supplement doses: EFSA's 2024 safe level of 40 mg a day is a safe level, not an upper limit, because the point where risk rises is undefined.14
Frequently asked questions
Is it better to take a multivitamin with or without iron?
With iron if you have periods or a test shows you are low; without if you are a man or past the menopause with normal iron, or have haemochromatosis.1, 5
Why do some people avoid iron in a multivitamin?
Because their need is 8.7 mg and met from food, or because a doctor has told them to, as in haemochromatosis.1, 5
Do women over 50 need a multivitamin with iron?
Usually not: the NHS figure falls to 8.7 mg at 50, unless periods continue or a test shows a shortfall.1
Is there enough iron in a multivitamin?
At 100% NRV, 14 mg is about 95% of a woman's daily need before 50; a diagnosed deficiency is treated at a prescribed dose, not with a multivitamin.1, 8
Sources
- NHS. Vitamins and minerals: iron. Reviewed 3 August 2020. nhs.uk.
- Low MS, et al. Daily iron supplementation in menstruating women. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2016. 67 trials, 8,506 women; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 27087396.
- Vaucher P, et al. Iron supplementation and fatigue in nonanemic menstruating women with low ferritin. CMAJ, 2012. Randomised placebo-controlled trial, 198 women, 12 weeks; funding not stated in the abstract. PubMed 22777991.
- Fiani D, et al. Psychiatric and cognitive outcomes of iron supplementation in non-anemic children, adolescents, and menstruating adults: a meta-analysis and systematic review. Neuroscience and Biobehavioral Reviews, 2025. 18 studies, 1,408 participants; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 40945632.
- NHS. Haemochromatosis. Reviewed 29 March 2023. nhs.uk.
- Houston BL, et al. Iron supplementation, fatigue and physical capacity in non-anaemic iron-deficient adults: systematic review. BMJ Open, 2018. 18 trials, 1,170 adults; no specific grant. PubMed 29626044.
- Hansen R, et al. Iron supplements in pregnant women with normal iron status: meta-analysis. Acta Obstetricia et Gynecologica Scandinavica, 2023. 8 randomised trials, 2,822 women; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 37403900.
- Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 as retained in UK law, Annex XIII, nutrient reference values. legislation.gov.uk.
- Department of Health and Social Care. Great Britain nutrition and health claims (NHC) register. Last updated 19 May 2026. gov.uk.
- NHS. The vegan diet. Reviewed 5 June 2026. nhs.uk.
- NHS. Pregnancy vitamins and supplements. Reviewed 3 June 2026. nhs.uk.
- The Food Supplements (England) Regulations 2003, regulation 6 (labelling) and Schedule 2 (permitted forms). legislation.gov.uk.
- Department of Health. Food supplements: label advisory statements. Agreed May 2004; PDF dated 31 May 2013. gov.uk.
- EFSA NDA Panel. Scientific opinion on the tolerable upper intake level for iron. EFSA Journal, 2024. Scientific opinion; EFSA. PubMed 38868106.
- NHS. Levothyroxine. Reviewed 6 July 2026. nhs.uk.
- NHS. Doxycycline. Reviewed 5 September 2025. nhs.uk.
- Tenenbein M. Unit-dose packaging of iron supplements and iron poisoning in young children. Archives of Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine, 2005. Before-and-after analysis of US poison centre data; funding not stated. PubMed 15939855.
Spotted something out of date? Email support@wellgard.co.uk with the page address and the sentence.
General information, not medical advice. If you have haemochromatosis, anaemia, are pregnant or take levothyroxine or doxycycline, ask your GP or pharmacist which supplement suits you. Keep every iron product out of children's reach.