Collagen Tablets and Capsules: How Many Make a Trial Dose?
In this article
- What is in a collagen tablet or capsule?
- How many collagen tablets make a trial dose?
- Collagen powder vs tablets and capsules: what differs?
- What did the collagen trials use?
- Are collagen tablets good for you, and what are the side effects?
- How do you take collagen tablets?
- What should you check on a collagen tablet label?
- What we don't know
- Frequently asked questions
A collagen tablet or capsule usually holds between 500 mg and 1 g of hydrolysed collagen, so the 2.5 to 10 g a day used in the skin, joint and bone trials means three to twenty units a day, depending on the label. The arithmetic is simple: milligrams per tablet, times tablets per day, divided by 1,000, gives grams per day.1, 2, 3 This page reports what the trials used and leaves the format to you. It sits beneath the Wellgard collagen guide.
Sources checked on 29 October 2026.
What is in a collagen tablet or capsule?
Three products share the shelf label.
Hydrolysed collagen peptides, pressed into a tablet with binders and a coating, or filled into a capsule shell. These are the same peptides as a powder in a smaller portion: a tablet typically carries 500 to 750 mg, a capsule 400 mg to 1.7 g, so the daily dose is the number of units times the figure on the label. By law a supplement label must state the portion recommended for daily consumption and the amount of collagen in that daily portion, as a number.4
Undenatured type II collagen, a 40 mg capsule of intact chicken-cartilage collagen, proposed to act through the gut's immune tolerance rather than by supplying peptides. A different ingredient with its own joint trials; what type 2 collagen is covers them.
Vitamin blends that carry a little collagen beside vitamin C, zinc or biotin. Collagen itself has no authorised health claim in Great Britain, a fact about the register rather than a verdict on the trials, so the benefit wording on these packs belongs to the vitamins: "Vitamin C contributes to normal collagen formation for the normal function of skin", for a product supplying at least 15% of the nutrient reference value.5
How many collagen tablets make a trial dose?
The trial doses by outcome: skin 2.5 to 10 g a day (69 women took 2.5 or 5 g for eight weeks and elasticity improved at both doses),1 joints 10 g (147 athletes, 24 weeks),2 bone 5 g (131 postmenopausal women, twelve months),3 and muscle with resistance training 15 g (53 older men, twelve weeks).6 Set your label against them.
| Collagen per unit | Units for 2.5 g a day | Units for 5 g a day | Units for 10 g a day |
|---|---|---|---|
| 500 mg | 5 | 10 | 20 |
| 750 mg | 3.3, so 4 | 6.7, so 7 | 13.3, so 14 |
| 1,000 mg | 2.5, so 3 | 5 | 10 |
For 15 g, the training dose, the count is 30, 20 or 15 units; this is label arithmetic, not a trial result. "High strength" on the front has no legal definition in the GB supplement rules; the figure that counts is the grams per daily portion on the back, which is what "high strength" means in practice.4
Collagen powder vs tablets and capsules: what differs?
Grams per serving and the number of units: a tablet delivers a known fraction of a gram, a scoop several grams, and both deliver collagen peptides. Tablets travel and need no drink; powder reaches a trial dose in one serving. Which form of collagen is most effective has the format table, and liquids, sachets and gummies the ready-made drinks.
What did the collagen trials use?
Where a skin, joint or bone trial report says how the collagen was taken, it was a powder dissolved in water or a ready-made drink: the 24-week joint trial used 25 mL of liquid carrying 10 g.2 The one gram-dose capsule trial we found gave 90 overweight adults 2 g a day of skate-skin collagen peptides or placebo for 12 weeks; body fat fell 1.2 kg against a 0.3 kg rise on placebo, with a raw-material supplier among the authors.7 A six-month trial of 200 adults aged 50 and over took 1,200 mg a day, with more pain responders than placebo at six months but not at three, and the report does not say what form it took.8 An assessor-blinded trial of 83 adults with hair loss added one tablet a day carrying 300 mg of fish collagen with amino acids, iron and selenium to their prescribed treatment for twelve weeks: a blend at a third of a gram, not a test of collagen alone.9 And a six-month trial of 5 g of fish collagen a day in menopausal women describes its supplements as "powder or tablet form" without saying which participants had which.10
The peptides are the same molecules whatever carries them: in a four-person dosing study, collagen-derived peptides appeared in the blood after a dose and rose in proportion to it, with no ceiling found.11
Are collagen tablets good for you, and what are the side effects?
Side effects are not format-specific. In a 2024 analysis of 35 randomised trials (3,165 people with osteoarthritis), collagen supplements did not increase adverse events or withdrawals compared with control; the 1,200 mg trial reported no difference in tolerability, and the 69-woman skin trial noted no side effects.12, 8, 1 Collagen side effects and medicines has the detail.
What a tablet adds is on the label: a gelatine or plant-cellulose capsule shell, or a tablet's binders and coating. Marine collagen in any format is a fish product: in a study of 101 fish-allergic patients, 21% were sensitised to fish collagen itself.13
How do you take collagen tablets?
With water, with or without food, at whatever time you will remember; the trials dosed once a day and their effects built over eight to twelve weeks, so the daily count on the label is the one that matters.1, 3 When to take collagen covers timing and the levothyroxine rule, and how much collagen to take a day the doses by outcome.
What should you check on a collagen tablet label?
- Collagen per tablet in milligrams, and per daily portion in grams. The law requires the daily portion and the amount in it, as a number; multiply out and set it against 2.5, 5 or 10 g.4
- The type and source declared. Hydrolysed peptides from bovine hide, bone or fish skin, or undenatured type II from chicken cartilage.
- What else is in the tablet. Shell, binders, coating, vitamins; "collagen complex" is the weight of the mixture, not the collagen in it.
- Batch testing. A certificate of analysis reports protein, hydroxyproline (which proves the protein is collagen), molecular weight, heavy metals and microbiology; ask which laboratory and which metals.
- Price per 10 g of collagen. Pack price divided by the total grams of collagen in the pack, times ten. A pot of 90 tablets at 750 mg holds 67.5 g, so divide its price by 6.75.
How to choose a collagen supplement has the seven production questions and the glass test.
What we don't know
No trial has tested tablets or capsules at the 2.5 to 10 g skin, joint and bone doses; the one capsule trial measured body fat at 2 g.7 Whether a day's dose spread across tablets behaves like one dissolved serving has never been compared, and the two trials that might have answered it did not state the form or mixed forms.8, 10 These are gaps in the research, not findings against the format.
Frequently asked questions
What are the best collagen tablets?
The ones whose label answers the five checks: grams per daily portion, type and source, the full ingredient list, a certificate of analysis and price per 10 g.
Are collagen capsules better than tablets?
Same contents in a different casing: a capsule needs no binder or coating and some hold up to about 1.7 g; the choice is units per day and what you find easy to take.
Can you take collagen tablets every day?
Daily use is how every trial ran, from eight weeks to twelve months, with no more adverse events than control across 35 randomised trials.12 There is no UK upper limit for collagen; it counts as protein.
Sources
- Proksch E, et al. Oral supplementation of specific collagen peptides has beneficial effects on human skin physiology: a double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, 2014. Randomised trial, 69 women, 2.5 or 5 g for 8 weeks; supplier-linked authors. PubMed 23949208.
- Clark KL, et al. 24-week study on the use of collagen hydrolysate as a dietary supplement in athletes with activity-related joint pain. Current Medical Research and Opinion, 2008. Randomised trial, 147 athletes (97 analysed), 10 g for 24 weeks; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 18416885.
- König D, et al. Specific collagen peptides improve bone mineral density and bone markers in postmenopausal women: a randomized controlled study. Nutrients, 2018. Randomised trial, 131 postmenopausal women, 5 g for 12 months; supplier-linked authors. PubMed 29337906.
- The Food Supplements (England) Regulations 2003, regulation 6. legislation.gov.uk.
- Department of Health and Social Care. Great Britain nutrition and health claims (NHC) register. Last updated 19 May 2026. gov.uk.
- Zdzieblik D, et al. Collagen peptide supplementation in combination with resistance training improves body composition and increases muscle strength in elderly sarcopenic men: a randomised controlled trial. British Journal of Nutrition, 2015. Randomised trial, 53 men with sarcopenia, 15 g for 12 weeks; part supplier-funded, with supplier-linked authors. PubMed 26353786.
- Tak YJ, et al. Effect of oral ingestion of low-molecular collagen peptides derived from skate (Raja kenojei) skin on body fat in overweight adults: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. Marine Drugs, 2019. Randomised trial, 90 overweight adults, 2 g as capsules for 12 weeks; one author at the raw-material supplier. PubMed 30866485.
- Bruyère O, et al. Effect of collagen hydrolysate in articular pain: a 6-month randomized, double-blind, placebo controlled study. Complementary Therapies in Medicine, 2012. Randomised trial, 200 adults aged 50 and over with joint pain, 1.2 g for 6 months; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 22500661.
- Milani M, Colombo F. Efficacy and tolerability of an oral supplement containing amino acids, iron, selenium, and marine hydrolyzed collagen in subjects with hair loss: a prospective, randomized, 3-month, controlled, assessor-blinded study. Skin Research and Technology, 2023. Assessor-blinded randomised trial, 83 adults, one tablet a day for 12 weeks; authors employed by the product's maker. PubMed 37357646.
- Duangjai A, et al. Calcium and vitamin D supplementation with and without collagen on bone density and skin elasticity in menopausal women: a randomized controlled study. Clinics and Practice, 2025. Randomised trial, menopausal women in four groups, 5 g for 6 months; no conflicts declared. PubMed 41002783.
- Shigemura Y, et al. Dose-dependent changes in the levels of free and peptide forms of hydroxyproline in human plasma after collagen hydrolysate ingestion. Food Chemistry, 2014. Dose-response absorption study, 4 volunteers; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 24767063.
- Liang CW, et al. Efficacy and safety of collagen derivatives for osteoarthritis: a trial sequential meta-analysis. Osteoarthritis and Cartilage, 2024. Meta-analysis, 35 randomised trials, 3,165 people with osteoarthritis; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 38218227.
- Kalic T, et al. Collagen: an important fish allergen for improved diagnosis. Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology: In Practice, 2020. Laboratory study of sera from 101 fish-allergic patients; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 32389794.
Spotted something out of date? Email support@wellgard.co.uk with the page address and the sentence.