What Is Type 2 Collagen? Undenatured vs Hydrolysed for Joints
In this article
- What is type 2 collagen, and where is it in the body?
- What is undenatured type II collagen?
- What are hydrolysed type II collagen peptides?
- Type 1 vs type 2 collagen: which do the joint trials use?
- Does adding type II to a hide peptide add anything? The one combination trial
- Is type 2 collagen good for bones or skin?
- Who should not take type 2 collagen, and does it have side effects?
- What should you check on a type 2 collagen label?
- What we don't know
- Frequently asked questions
Type II collagen is the collagen of joint cartilage, and two supplements carry the name. Undenatured type II collagen is a 40 mg a day ingredient from chicken sternum cartilage, kept intact, with its own knee trials over 24 weeks to 180 days. Hydrolysed type II collagen is a gram-dose peptide from the same cartilage. They work by different proposed routes and have never been tested head to head. No health claim for collagen is authorised in Great Britain; the trials below are reported as counts, as a spoke of the Wellgard collagen guide.
Sources checked on 29 October 2026.
What is type 2 collagen, and where is it in the body?
Type II collagen is the main collagen of articular cartilage, the smooth tissue on the bone ends inside a joint. Skin, bone and tendon are built from type I, with type III beside it in skin and vessel walls. So the "2" on a label names the tissue a supplement was made from, cartilage, in practice chicken sternum; whether it still matters after processing depends on which of the two products below you hold. Types of collagen explained covers the full numbering.
What is undenatured type II collagen?
Undenatured (native) type II collagen is cartilage collagen that has not been heated or enzyme-cut, so its triple helix and the antigenic structures on it are intact. The proposed mechanism is oral tolerance: a small daily amount reaching the gut's immune tissue is thought to make the immune system more tolerant of the body's own cartilage collagen, a route that depends on structures hydrolysed collagen does not carry.1 The dose is 40 mg a day, a capsule, not a scoop.
Its trials, as counts. In 191 people with knee osteoarthritis, 40 mg a day for 180 days lowered the total WOMAC score more than placebo (p = 0.002) and more than glucosamine hydrochloride with chondroitin sulfate (p = 0.04); safety outcomes did not differ.2 In 96 adults aged 20 to 55 with activity-related joint discomfort, 24 weeks increased knee flexion range by 3.23 degrees against 0.21 on placebo.3 A 2023 review counted eight randomised trials in early knee osteoarthritis, 243 people on the ingredient over three to six months, with better WOMAC and pain scores than placebo.4
What are hydrolysed type II collagen peptides?
Hydrolysed type II collagen is the same cartilage taken apart by heat and enzymes into short peptides, sold in grams. Hydrolysis removes the triple helix that defines a type, so once cut, "type II" tells you the raw material was cartilage, not that the peptides differ from type I peptides from hide or fish skin; the antigenic structures the undenatured form relies on are gone.1
Its own trials are few. In 80 people with hip or knee osteoarthritis, 2 g a day of a hydrolysed chicken sternal cartilage extract for 70 days lowered pain and WOMAC scores more than placebo, with comparable tolerability.6 The pooled analyses do not separate it: a 2024 analysis of 35 randomised trials in 3,165 people with osteoarthritis pooled "collagen derivatives", hydrolysed and undenatured together, and found small to moderate reductions in pain and improvements in function.7
Type 1 vs type 2 collagen: which do the joint trials use?
Mostly type I. In 180 active adults aged 18 to 30, 5 g a day of hydrolysed type I collagen peptides for 12 weeks reduced exercise-induced knee pain by 21.9 mm against 15.6 mm on placebo; in a supplier-funded trial of 80 adults aged 40 to 75 with early knee osteoarthritis, 3 g a day for 180 days lowered WOMAC pain more than placebo.8, 9 The best type of collagen for joints compares the two ingredients.
| Ingredient | Daily dose in trials (g or mg) | Tested in | Measured |
|---|---|---|---|
| Undenatured type II collagen (intact, chicken sternum cartilage) | 40 mg | 96 to 191 adults with knee discomfort or knee osteoarthritis; 24 weeks to 180 days | WOMAC, pain score, knee flexion |
| Hydrolysed type II collagen (peptides from cartilage) | 2 g | 80 adults with hip or knee osteoarthritis; 70 days | Pain score, WOMAC |
| Hydrolysed type I collagen peptides (hide, bone or fish skin) | 3 to 10 g | 180 active adults; 100 with knee osteoarthritis; 80 with early knee osteoarthritis (supplier-funded); 12 weeks to 180 days8, 9, 13 | Activity-related pain, WOMAC pain, joint-space width |
Does adding type II to a hide peptide add anything? The one combination trial
Not measurably yet; the one combination trial is below.5 A powder listing types I, II, III, V and X is a blend of raw materials hydrolysed together; the figure to compare is grams of collagen per serving. Multi-collagen explains a five-type listing.
Is type 2 collagen good for bones or skin?
No trial has tested undenatured type II on bone or skin; one trial of hydrolysed chicken cartilage, with chondroitin and hyaluronic acid, measured skin in women, and none measured bone density.14 The bone evidence is 5 g a day of hydrolysed collagen peptides for 12 months in 131 postmenopausal women: spine and femoral-neck T-scores rose while the placebo group's fell.10 Neither result applies to a 40 mg capsule. Collagen for bones covers the bone trial.
Who should not take type 2 collagen, and does it have side effects?
In the trials both forms were well tolerated: the 180-day undenatured trial reported safety outcomes that did not differ between groups, the 2024 pooled analysis found no increase in adverse events or withdrawals across 35 trials, and the 12-week combination trial recorded none.2, 5, 7 Both forms are usually chicken cartilage, so anyone avoiding poultry reads the label. No trial has included children, pregnancy or kidney disease, so those groups ask a GP or specialist first. The NHS says to see a GP if "the pain has not improved after treating it at home for 2 weeks" or "your joints are stiff for more than 30 minutes after waking up".11 Is there a downside to taking collagen covers medicines.
What should you check on a type 2 collagen label?
- Undenatured or hydrolysed. "Undenatured" or "native" type II means the intact 40 mg ingredient; "hydrolysed type II" or "collagen peptides" in grams means peptides. A product can contain both.
- The amount per daily portion. Milligrams for undenatured, grams for hydrolysed; the trial doses are in the questions below.
- A trademark is a maker's name for its material, not a type. Ask whether the capsule holds the material that was trialled.1
Collagen capsules covers how many capsules make a gram dose of a hydrolysate.
What we don't know
Whether a result for one undenatured type II material transfers to another: the positive trials were run or funded by the ingredient's makers, and powders sold under the name differ markedly in fibre size and antigenic configuration, so a result belongs to the material tested.1, 3 Two independent trials have now reported, and neither separated from placebo: 68 people with knee osteoarthritis taking undenatured type II with hydrolysate for 12 weeks improved alongside placebo, and in a 2026 four-arm trial of 216 adults with mild to moderate knee osteoarthritis, 40 mg of undenatured type II a day for 24 weeks changed the WOMAC score by 4.7 points of 220 against placebo, with a confidence interval from 18.6 better to 9.1 worse; prescription glucosamine sulphate and diacerein did no better in the same trial, and adverse events were mild and comparable. The sponsor-supplied positive trials recruited healthy active adults or ran 90 to 180 days; the independent trials recruited people with diagnosed osteoarthritis: whether population, duration or funding explains the split is the open question, not a verdict on the ingredient.5, 15 Whether either form rebuilds cartilage: no trial has shown new cartilage forming, and joint-space width was unchanged in the one trial that measured it.8
Frequently asked questions
What is the best type 2 collagen supplement for joints?
There is no ranking to give: the two ingredients that carry the name were never compared, and each has only the trials above.4, 6 Check the label points above and allow 12 weeks at the least.
Is undenatured type II collagen better than hydrolysed collagen for joints?
No trial has put them head to head, so neither can be called better; each has its own trials above, and the one trial combining them did not separate from placebo.5 Collagen and glucosamine covers the other comparison people ask about.
How much type 2 collagen should you take a day?
Follow the form: 40 mg a day for undenatured type II, the dose in every trial above; 2 g a day for hydrolysed type II in its one trial; 5 to 10 g for hydrolysed type I peptides in most knee trials, 3 g in one.2, 6, 8, 9, 13 All were taken daily for 12 weeks or longer.
Does type 2 collagen help arthritis?
Osteoarthritis, in the NHS's words "the most common type of arthritis in the UK", is the condition the trials above recruited, and both forms lowered WOMAC and pain scores against placebo in their own trials.2, 6, 12 Collagen is a food supplement, not a treatment for arthritis; the NHS lists "a number of treatments" available "to reduce the symptoms", and a diagnosis belongs with your GP.12
Sources
- Harris RB, et al. Functional characterization of undenatured type II collagen supplements: are they interchangeable? Journal of Dietary Supplements, 2022. Laboratory comparison of commercial products. PubMed 34060435.
- Lugo JP, Saiyed ZM, Lane NE. Efficacy and tolerability of an undenatured type II collagen supplement in modulating knee osteoarthritis symptoms: a multicenter randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Nutrition Journal, 2016. Randomised trial, 191 people with knee osteoarthritis, 180 days; manufacturer-linked authors. PubMed 26822714.
- Schön C, et al. Journal of Integrative and Complementary Medicine, 2022. Randomised trial, 96 adults, 40 mg for 24 weeks; manufacturer-employed authors. PubMed 35377244.
- Kumar P, et al. Efficacy of undenatured collagen in knee osteoarthritis: review of the literature with limited meta-analysis. American Journal of Translational Research, 2023. Review, 8 randomised trials, 243 people on the ingredient; no conflicts declared. PubMed 37854210.
- Yuenyongviwat V, et al. Efficacy of combined undenatured type II collagen and hydrolysed collagen supplementation in knee osteoarthritis: a randomised controlled trial. Scientific Reports, 2025. Randomised trial, 68 people with knee osteoarthritis, 12 weeks; no competing interests declared. PubMed 40897777.
- Schauss AG, et al. Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, 2012. Randomised trial, 80 people with hip or knee osteoarthritis, 2 g for 70 days; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 22486722.
- Liang CW, et al. Efficacy and safety of collagen derivatives for osteoarthritis: a trial sequential meta-analysis. Osteoarthritis and Cartilage, 2024. Meta-analysis, 35 randomised trials, 3,165 people with osteoarthritis; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 38218227.
- Park SY, et al. Efficacy and safety of low-molecular-weight collagen peptides in knee osteoarthritis: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. Frontiers in Nutrition, 2025. Randomised trial, 80 adults, 3 g for 180 days; supplier-funded. PubMed 40977985.
- Zdzieblik D, et al. Nutrients, 2021. Randomised trial, 180 active adults, 5 g for 12 weeks; supplier-linked author. PubMed 33562729.
- König D, et al. Specific collagen peptides improve bone mineral density and bone markers in postmenopausal women: a randomized controlled study. Nutrients, 2018. Randomised trial, 131 postmenopausal women, 5 g for 12 months; supplier-linked authors. PubMed 29337906.
- NHS. Joint pain. nhs.uk. Page last reviewed 26 February 2026.
- NHS. Osteoarthritis. nhs.uk. Page last reviewed 20 March 2023 (review overdue).
- Trč T, Bohmová J. International Orthopaedics, 2011. Randomised trial, 100 adults, 10 g for 13 weeks; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 20401752.
- Schwartz SR, et al. Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine, 2019. Randomised trial, 128 women, 12 weeks; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 31221944.
- Narkbunnam R, et al. A comparison of clinical outcomes among undenatured collagen type II, glucosamine sulfate, and diacerein on osteoarthritic knee treatment: a randomized clinical trial. JB and JS Open Access, 2026. Randomised four-arm trial, 216 adults, 24 weeks; funded by a Thai university hospital, the Medical Association of Thailand and the state pharmaceutical organisation. PubMed 42698930.
Spotted something out of date? Email support@wellgard.co.uk with the page address and the sentence.