What Is the Best Type of Collagen for Joints? Peptides or Type II
In this article
The best type of collagen for joints is one of two ingredients with joint trials behind them. Hydrolysed collagen peptides at 5 to 10 g a day reduced activity-related knee discomfort in two trials of 139 and 180 active adults over twelve weeks, and reduced pain and improved function in people with osteoarthritis in a 2024 analysis of 35 randomised trials.1, 2, 11 Undenatured type II collagen at 40 mg a day is a separate ingredient with its own trials and a different mechanism.4, 5 No collagen claim is authorised in Great Britain; everything below is trial evidence.
Sources checked on 29 October 2026.
Which type of collagen is best for joints?
Once collagen is hydrolysed into peptides of 2 to 5 kDa, the amino-acid sequence is almost identical across types I, II and III. The knee trials used type I peptides from hide, bone and fish skin; a "multi-collagen" listing five types is a mixture of raw materials, not a wider benefit (types of collagen explained).
Does collagen protect joints?
In 139 athletes with functional knee pain, 5 g of bovine collagen peptides a day for twelve weeks reduced pain during activity more than placebo, a fall of 19.5 mm against 13.9 mm on a 100 mm scale; in 180 active adults aged 18 to 30, the same dose and duration gave 21.9 mm against 15.6 mm. Pain at rest did not differ from placebo.1, 2
Can collagen help arthritis? What the osteoarthritis trials found
A 2024 analysis of 35 randomised trials in 3,165 people with osteoarthritis found collagen supplements gave small to moderate reductions in pain (moderate certainty) and improvements in function (high certainty), with no more side effects than placebo; it pooled hydrolysed collagen with undenatured type II.11 A 2025 meta-analysis of 11 trials in 870 people found the same for pain and function, and a 2023 meta-analysis of the four hydrolysate-only trials, 507 people, found a moderate pain reduction at 2 to 10 g a day over three to six months.3, 12 Collagen is not a treatment for arthritis; the NHS says to "see your GP if you have persistent symptoms".21
Peptides or undenatured type II: which has the joint trials?
Undenatured type II collagen is native cartilage collagen, from chicken sternum, taken intact at 40 mg a day; the proposed route is oral tolerance in the gut's immune tissue.7 Three trials (55, 191 and 96 people), two with manufacturer employees as authors, found 120 to 180 days at 40 mg improved knee function or comfort more than placebo.4, 5, 6 What type 2 collagen is has the trials.
| Ingredient | Daily dose in trials | Proposed route | Tested in | When measures moved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hydrolysed collagen peptides (type I from hide, bone or fish skin) | 5 to 10 g | Absorbed as short peptides within one to two hours8 | Active adults with knee discomfort; knee osteoarthritis | 12 weeks; 3 to 6 months1, 2, 3 |
| Undenatured type II collagen (native cartilage collagen) | 40 mg | Oral tolerance via gut immune tissue; not a protein source | Adults with exertion knee pain; knee osteoarthritis | 90 to 180 days4, 5, 6 |
Neither is "better": one independent trial of the two combined found no difference from placebo over twelve weeks.9
Do your joints need collagen?
The body builds joint collagen from amino acids every day; a supplement adds glycine, proline and hydroxyproline as peptides that reach the blood within an hour or two, in proportion to the dose.8 Take it daily for twelve weeks before judging; what you can notice after taking collagen sets expectations, and joint pain after the menopause covers aches that began then.
See a GP if, in the NHS's words, "the pain has not improved after treating it at home for 2 weeks" or "your joints are stiff for more than 30 minutes after waking up"; ask for an urgent GP appointment or get help from NHS 111 if "the skin around it is swollen and feels hot" or you "have a high temperature or feel hot, cold or shivery".18
Collagen for tendons and ligaments
In eight men, 15 g of vitamin C-enriched gelatine an hour before rope skipping doubled a blood marker of collagen synthesis; 5 g did not.10 Training trials since: a UK trial of 39 men found 15 g a day over fifteen weeks made no difference to tendon size or stiffness, three small 2025 trials found 30 g with vitamin C increased tendon size or stiffness more than training alone, and in the dose-response study 15 g did not differ from placebo on the synthesis marker.13, 14, 15, 16, 17 What vitamins to take with collagen covers vitamin C; collagen for men has the men's tendon trials.
Which collagen powder is best for joints?
A hydrolysed peptide at 5 g or more, taken every day; bovine and marine peptides are both type I and absorbed alike, so choose by allergy and diet.8 How much collagen to take a day has the dose table and the Wellgard collagen guide the rest.
What we don't know
The four hydrolysate-only knee osteoarthritis trials were all judged at high risk of bias, no trial has counted injuries, and peptides and undenatured type II have never been compared head to head.3, 9 These are gaps in the evidence, not findings that collagen does not work.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for joints, glucosamine or collagen?
One 13-week trial in 100 people favoured 10 g of collagen peptides over glucosamine sulphate on several pain and function scores, and undenatured type II beat glucosamine with chondroitin in one 180-day trial: single trials, not a settled answer.22, 5 Collagen and glucosamine together compares them.
Does collagen do anything for cartilage itself?
No trial has shown new cartilage forming. In a 30-person pilot, an MRI measure of cartilage proteoglycan rose at 24 weeks on collagen hydrolysate and fell on placebo, without a symptom difference; in a manufacturer-funded trial of 80, joint-space width was unchanged at 180 days while pain and function improved.19, 20
How long does collagen take to work for joints?
Twelve weeks was the earliest point knee discomfort differed from placebo; the osteoarthritis trials ran three to six months.1, 3 Is there a downside to taking collagen covers the cautions.
Sources
- Zdzieblik D, et al. Improvement of activity-related knee joint discomfort following supplementation of specific collagen peptides. Applied Physiology, Nutrition, and Metabolism, 2017. Randomised trial, 139 athletes, 12 weeks; supplier-linked co-author. PubMed 28177710.
- Zdzieblik D, et al. Nutrients, 2021. Randomised trial, 180 active adults, 12 weeks; supplier-linked co-author. PubMed 33562729.
- Lin CR, et al. Analgesic efficacy of collagen peptide in knee osteoarthritis: a meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Journal of Orthopaedic Surgery and Research, 2023. Meta-analysis, 4 randomised trials, 507 knee osteoarthritis patients; no funding declared. PubMed 37717022.
- Lugo JP, et al. Undenatured type II collagen for joint support: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study in healthy volunteers. Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 2013. Randomised trial, 55 adults, 120 days; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 24153020.
- Lugo JP, Saiyed ZM, Lane NE. Efficacy and tolerability of an undenatured type II collagen supplement in modulating knee osteoarthritis symptoms: a multicenter randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Nutrition Journal, 2016. Randomised trial, 191 adults, 180 days; manufacturer employees as authors. PubMed 26822714.
- Schön C, et al. Undenatured type II collagen for knee joint flexibility: a multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical study. Journal of Integrative and Complementary Medicine, 2022. Randomised trial, 96 adults, 24 weeks; manufacturer employees as authors. PubMed 35377244.
- Harris RB, et al. Functional characterization of undenatured type II collagen supplements: are they interchangeable? Journal of Dietary Supplements, 2022. Laboratory analysis of marketed powders; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 34060435.
- Shigemura Y, et al. Dose-dependent changes in the levels of free and peptide forms of hydroxyproline in human plasma after collagen hydrolysate ingestion. Food Chemistry, 2014. Dose-response study, 4 volunteers; ingredient-company co-author. PubMed 24767063.
- Yuenyongviwat V, et al. Efficacy of combined undenatured type II collagen and hydrolysed collagen supplementation in knee osteoarthritis: a randomised controlled trial. Scientific Reports, 2025. Randomised trial, 68 knee osteoarthritis patients, 12 weeks; no conflicts declared. PubMed 40897777.
- Shaw G, et al. Vitamin C-enriched gelatin supplementation before intermittent activity augments collagen synthesis. American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 2017. Randomised crossover trial, 8 men; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 27852613.
- Liang CW, et al. Efficacy and safety of collagen derivatives for osteoarthritis: a trial sequential meta-analysis. Osteoarthritis and Cartilage, 2024. Pooled analysis, 35 randomised trials, 3,165 people with osteoarthritis; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 38218227.
- Simental-Mendía M, et al. Effect of collagen supplementation on knee osteoarthritis: an updated systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials. Clinical and Experimental Rheumatology, 2025. Meta-analysis, 11 randomised trials, 870 people; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 39212129.
- Balshaw TG, et al. Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise, 2023. Randomised trial, 39 men, 15 weeks; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 37436929.
- Nulty CD, Phelan K, Erskine RM. Hydrolysed collagen supplementation enhances patellar tendon adaptations to 12 weeks' resistance training in middle-aged men. European Journal of Sport Science, 2025. Randomised trial, 20 men, 12 weeks; no conflicts declared. PubMed 40100255.
- Nulty CD, Erskine RM. Collagen supplementation augments strength training-induced gains in tendon size and rate of force development in elite female master field hockey athletes. International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism, 2025. Randomised trial, 22 women, 8 weeks; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 40992424.
- Lee J, Robshaw DC, Erskine RM. High-intensity resistance training and collagen supplementation improve patellar tendon adaptations in professional female soccer athletes. Experimental Physiology, 2025. Randomised trial, 11 women, 10 weeks; no conflicts declared. PubMed 39207908.
- Lee J, et al. The collagen synthesis response to an acute bout of resistance exercise is greater when ingesting 30 g hydrolyzed collagen compared with 15 g and 0 g in resistance-trained young men. The Journal of Nutrition, 2024. Randomised crossover trial, 10 men; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 38007183.
- NHS. Joint pain. nhs.uk. Page last reviewed 26 February 2026.
- McAlindon TE, et al. Change in knee osteoarthritis cartilage detected by delayed gadolinium enhanced magnetic resonance imaging following treatment with collagen hydrolysate: a pilot randomized controlled trial. Osteoarthritis and Cartilage, 2011. Pilot randomised trial, 30 adults, 24 weeks; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 21251991.
- Park SY, et al. Efficacy and safety of low-molecular-weight collagen peptides in knee osteoarthritis: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. Frontiers in Nutrition, 2025. Randomised trial, 80 adults, 180 days; manufacturer-funded. PubMed 40977985.
- NHS. Osteoarthritis. nhs.uk. Page last reviewed 20 March 2023 (review overdue).
- Trč T, Bohmová J. Efficacy and tolerance of enzymatic hydrolysed collagen vs. glucosamine sulphate in the treatment of knee osteoarthritis. International Orthopaedics, 2011. Randomised trial, 100 adults, 13 weeks; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 20401752.
Spotted something out of date? Email support@wellgard.co.uk with the page address and the sentence.
This article is general information, not medical advice. If you have a diagnosed joint condition, collagen sits alongside the care your GP or physiotherapist has set out, not in place of it.