Curcumin vs Turmeric: The Difference and What a Dose Label Means

A woman with her hair up at a wooden kitchen table, lifting a spoonful of golden turmeric powder while holding a plain white tub, a yellow stand mixer behind
In this article
  1. Is curcumin the same as turmeric?
  2. How much curcumin is in a teaspoon of turmeric?
  3. Why are turmeric dose labels not comparable?
  4. Is it better to take turmeric or curcumin?
  5. Did cooking with turmeric beat supplements?
  6. What is curcumin good for?
  7. What we don't know
  8. Frequently asked questions

Turmeric is the spice: the dried, ground root of Curcuma longa. Curcumin is its best-known active compound, one of three curcuminoids that together make up only a few per cent of the powder: pure turmeric powders averaged 3.14% curcumin in a laboratory analysis. So a teaspoon of turmeric (3 to 4 g) holds roughly 95 to 125 mg of curcumin, a 500 mg capsule of turmeric powder about 16 mg, and a 500 mg capsule of 95% extract about 475 mg of curcuminoids: the same word on three labels and a roughly thirtyfold spread between the two capsules.1, 2 The trials people read about used standardised extracts, typically 500 to 1,500 mg of curcuminoids a day, neither turmeric nor curcumin has an authorised health claim in Great Britain, and the only figure that makes two products comparable is the curcuminoid milligrams per serving.3, 4, 5 This is the conversion spoke of the Wellgard turmeric guide.

Sources checked on 1 November 2026.

Is curcumin the same as turmeric?

No. Turmeric is the whole root, dried and ground, with a yellow fraction of three related pigments, curcumin, demethoxycurcumin and bisdemethoxycurcumin, together called curcuminoids. In an analysis of 28 spice products, pure turmeric powder averaged 3.14% curcumin by weight, while curry powders had small and widely varying amounts.1 A "curcumin" or "95% extract" supplement is turmeric with everything else stripped away, so that about 95% of the extract's weight is curcuminoids.

How much curcumin is in a teaspoon of turmeric?

Roughly 95 to 125 mg of curcumin, taking a teaspoon as 3 to 4 g and the powder at the 3.14% average measured above; brands vary around that average.1, 2 The table converts the servings people ask about, alongside the European food safety body's acceptable daily intake for curcumin as a food colour (3 mg per kg of body weight, about 210 mg at 70 kg) and the trial doses.6, 4

What you take Curcumin or curcuminoids What it is
A level teaspoon of turmeric powder (3 to 4 g) About 95 to 125 mg curcumin A food amount
A 500 mg capsule of turmeric powder ("turmeric 500 mg") About 16 mg curcumin The spice in a capsule; an eighth to a sixth of a teaspoon
A 500 mg capsule of 95% extract ("turmeric extract, 95% curcuminoids") About 475 mg curcuminoids A standardised extract; the trial dose range starts here
A two-gummy serving of a turmeric-extract gummy Whatever the label states; where it gives an extract weight at a 95% standard, about 0.95 times that weight The label is the only source
Reference: acceptable daily intake 210 mg a day at 70 kg A food-colour lifetime figure; the UK committee doubts it fits supplements
Reference: trial band 500 to 1,500 mg curcuminoids a day for 4 to 12 weeks The positive knee, marker and depression trials; no gain from 1,000 mg or more for knees

Fresh root is mostly water, so gram for gram it carries less than the powder; golden paste is powder cooked with water and oil, so a teaspoon of paste holds less than a teaspoon of powder. Turmeric shots, golden milk and turmeric tea does the arithmetic for each drink.

Why are turmeric dose labels not comparable?

Because three different things are sold in milligrams. "Turmeric 500 mg" usually means powdered root; "turmeric extract 500 mg" means a concentrate whose strength you only know if the standardisation is printed; "curcuminoids 475 mg" is the figure that matters. "10,000 mg turmeric equivalent" is an extract ratio, the weight of root the extract was made from, and says nothing about curcuminoids: a 500 mg 20:1 extract is "10,000 mg equivalent" whether it carries 475 mg of curcuminoids or far less. "Standardised to 95% curcuminoids" is the phrase to look for. "Tree turmeric" is Indian barberry, a berberine plant, not turmeric; what is goldenseal explains the berberine plants. Absorption-enhanced forms add a twist: a phospholipid-complex or micellar product may state a lower curcuminoid figure because it is designed to be absorbed better, so its milligrams are not comparable with plain extract either.7 How much turmeric a day walks through a label line by line.

Is it better to take turmeric or curcumin?

They do different jobs. The spice is for food: flavour, colour and roughly 95 to 125 mg of curcumin a teaspoon. The extract is for a measured dose: the trials that found less knee pain used standardised extracts, typically 500 to 1,500 mg of curcuminoids a day, 1,000 mg or more helped no more than less, and a teaspoon of powder cannot reach that range.3, 4 The extract also carries the dose's cautions: the liver case reports include high-dose, high-absorption supplements in an Italian series;8, 9 curcumin contracts the gallbladder at 20 mg; and some medicines need a pharmacist's view, which who should not take turmeric covers medicine by medicine.9 The spice's own caution is oxalate: whole turmeric powder is high in it, so people who form calcium-oxalate kidney stones ask before taking powder as a supplement, while a 95% extract carries far less root.10 "Better" is the wrong question; "do I want a food or a dose" is the right one.

Did cooking with turmeric beat supplements?

The first half of this story is the 2016 BBC television experiment, retold as proof that cooking with turmeric changed a blood marker and capsules did not. Its design and result could not be verified and no peer-reviewed version has appeared; a few-week experiment on a laboratory marker in a few dozen volunteers could not in any case show that a teaspoon in a curry does what extracts did for knees in 23 trials of 2,175 people.11 The second half, "you would need to eat kilograms", overshoots the other way: at the 3.14% average, 1,000 mg of curcumin is about 32 g of powder, eight to eleven teaspoons, a great deal but not kilograms.1

The related claim that only liquid forms are absorbed has no human trial behind it. Every plain form shares the absorption problem: single doses of a standardised extract up to 8 g gave no measurable blood level in a dose study of 24 volunteers, and what is absorbed is rapidly metabolised and eliminated.12, 13 What changes that is what travels with the curcumin: piperine raised curcumin's bioavailability by 2,000% in the 1998 study, with higher blood levels up to an hour after the dose, and in a review of 11 formulations absorption rose from several-fold to more than a hundredfold without pepper, highest with micelles.14, 7, 15 Turmeric and black pepper explains what that does and does not mean.

What is curcumin good for?

The trial list is short. In knee osteoarthritis, across 23 trials and 2,175 people, curcumin eased pain by about 1.6 points of 10 against placebo, with about half the odds of side effects seen on anti-inflammatory painkillers.11 In adults, curcumin lowered C-reactive protein by about 0.6 mg/L across 66 trials: a blood marker, not a symptom.16 In diagnosed major depression, curcumin extract at 500 or 1,000 mg a day beat placebo over 12 weeks in a trial of 123 people.17 Cancer, Alzheimer's and weight are not on the list, and none of this is an authorised health claim in Great Britain.5

What we don't know

  • What a given jar holds: 3.14% is an average from one analysis, and curry powders varied widely.1
  • Whether better absorption means more benefit: the formulation studies measured blood levels in volunteers, not symptoms.7
  • Fresh root: we found no analysis of curcumin in fresh root as sold in the UK.

Frequently asked questions

What does turmeric powder taste like?

Earthy, bitter and slightly musky, with a mustard-like warmth and a drying finish; too much turns a dish chalky, which is why recipes pair it with fat, ginger, pepper, salt and a little sweetness. Fresh root is brighter and more gingery.

What is healthier, turmeric or curcumin?

Neither, because they are not alternatives. The spice is a food with a food amount of curcuminoids and no caution beyond the oxalate point; the extract is a supplement dose with trial evidence for knee pain and blood markers and the cautions that go with it.11, 10, 9 Cook with the one; decide about the other on its label and your medicines.

Which turmeric should I buy: high strength, 95%, liquid, fermented, with pepper, cheap or expensive?

Look for curcuminoid milligrams per serving, stated plainly; "high strength", "triple strength" and "10,000 mg equivalent" are not that figure, and "95%" is a standard, not a dose. Then ask what is added for absorption: pepper extract is the one to raise with a pharmacist. Liquid, capsule, gummy and fermented are formats, compared on their curcuminoid figure and nothing else. Price is no guide; in a 2026 survey of 125 turmeric supplements in the UK and four other countries, 34% did not state their curcuminoid content, and a product that does tells you more than one that does not.18

How much curcumin is in a 500 mg turmeric capsule?

If it is powdered root, about 16 mg of curcumin at the average measured in pure powders; if it is a 95% extract, about 475 mg of curcuminoids.1 The label will say which; if it does not, assume the former.

Sources

  1. Tayyem RF, Heath DD, Al-Delaimy WK, Rock CL. Curcumin content of turmeric and curry powders. Nutrition and Cancer, 2006. Laboratory analysis of 28 spice products; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 17044766.
  2. Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment. Statement on the potential risk to human health of turmeric and curcumin supplements (COT/2024/07), summary and conclusions, December 2024. Expert committee statement, including a 2021 survey of 15 UK supplements; read in the UK Government Web Archive, as the committee's own site has withdrawn the page. webarchive.nationalarchives.gov.uk.
  3. Kuptniratsaikul V, et al. Efficacy and safety of Curcuma domestica extracts compared with ibuprofen in patients with knee osteoarthritis: a multicenter study. Clinical Interventions in Aging, 2014. Randomised non-inferiority trial, 367 people, 4 weeks; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 24672232.
  4. Hsiao AF, et al. The efficacy of high- and low-dose curcumin in knee osteoarthritis: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Complementary Therapies in Medicine, 2021. Meta-analysis, 11 trials, 1,258 people; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 34537344.
  5. Department of Health and Social Care. Great Britain nutrition and health claims (NHC) register. Official register. gov.uk.
  6. EFSA Panel on Food Additives and Nutrient Sources added to Food. Scientific opinion on the re-evaluation of curcumin (E 100) as a food additive. EFSA Journal, 2010. Regulatory safety opinion. doi.org/10.2903/j.efsa.2010.1679.
  7. Jamwal R. Bioavailable curcumin formulations: a review of pharmacokinetic studies in healthy volunteers. Journal of Integrative Medicine, 2018. Review of volunteer studies of 11 formulations; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 30006023.
  8. Lombardi N, et al. Acute liver injury following turmeric use in Tuscany: an analysis of the Italian Phytovigilance database and systematic review of case reports. British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology, 2021. Case analysis, 7 people, and systematic review of 23 published cases; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 32656820.
  9. Halegoua-DeMarzio D, et al. Liver injury associated with turmeric, a growing problem: ten cases from the Drug-Induced Liver Injury Network. American Journal of Medicine, 2023. Case series, 10 people, US network cases 2004 to 2022; US National Institutes of Health funding. PubMed 36252717.
  10. Tang M, Larson-Meyer DE, Liebman M. Effect of cinnamon and turmeric on urinary oxalate excretion, plasma lipids, and plasma glucose in healthy subjects. American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 2008. Randomised crossover trial, 11 healthy adults, two 4-week periods; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 18469248.
  11. Zhao J, et al. Efficacy and safety of curcumin therapy for knee osteoarthritis: a Bayesian network meta-analysis. Journal of Ethnopharmacology, 2024. Network meta-analysis, 23 trials, 2,175 people; no competing interests declared, funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 38036015.
  12. Lao CD, et al. Dose escalation of a curcuminoid formulation. BMC Complementary and Alternative Medicine, 2006. Dose-escalation study, 24 healthy volunteers, single doses; US National Institutes of Health funding. PubMed 16545122.
  13. Anand P, et al. Bioavailability of curcumin: problems and promises. Molecular Pharmaceutics, 2007. Narrative review; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 17999464.
  14. Shoba G, et al. Influence of piperine on the pharmacokinetics of curcumin in animals and human volunteers. Planta Medica, 1998. Pharmacokinetic study in rats and healthy volunteers, single doses; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 9619120.
  15. Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment. Novel formulations of supplement compounds designed to increase oral bioavailability. December 2025. Expert committee review. gov.uk.
  16. Dehzad MJ, et al. Antioxidant and anti-inflammatory effects of curcumin/turmeric supplementation in adults: a GRADE-assessed systematic review and dose-response meta-analysis. Cytokine, 2023. Meta-analysis, 66 randomised trials; no competing interests declared, funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 36804260.
  17. Lopresti AL, Drummond PD. Efficacy of curcumin, and a saffron/curcumin combination for the treatment of major depression: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Journal of Affective Disorders, 2017. Randomised placebo-controlled trial, 123 people, 12 weeks; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 27723543.
  18. Rahim-Mahdy H, Seifert R. A market and risk assessment of 125 turmeric supplements available in Australia, Germany, India, UK, and USA. Naunyn-Schmiedeberg's Archives of Pharmacology, 2026. Label survey of 125 products in five countries; no conflicts declared. PubMed 40773013.

Spotted something out of date? Email support@wellgard.co.uk with the page address and the sentence.

This article is general information, not medical advice. Turmeric supplements interact with some prescription medicines and are not taken with gallstones or liver disease, or in pregnancy; ask your pharmacist first, and never stop or replace a prescribed medicine on the strength of one.