Does the NHS Recommend Collagen? What It Says, What Trials Show
In this article
- Does the NHS recommend collagen supplements?
- Can you get collagen on prescription?
- What do GPs and dietitians say about collagen?
- Why can no UK collagen supplement make a health claim?
- What does the NHS say that is relevant to collagen?
- Is collagen safe to take if the NHS does not recommend it?
- Should you take collagen if your GP is unsure?
- What we don't know
- Frequently asked questions
The NHS neither recommends nor advises against collagen supplements. Its vitamins and minerals guide says most people should "get all the nutrients they need by having a varied and balanced diet" and has no page on collagen. Collagen has no authorised health claim in Great Britain.1, 14, 16 That silence is not a verdict: collagen is a food protein taken for outcomes trials have measured, skin elasticity, knee comfort and bone density, none of them a disease, so it sits outside what the NHS advises on.4, 5
Sources checked on 29 October 2026.
Does the NHS recommend collagen supplements?
Neither for nor against. The NHS vitamins and minerals guide names the supplements it does advise: folic acid before and during early pregnancy, vitamin D through autumn and winter and all year for at-risk groups, vitamin drops for young children, vitamin B12 and a few other nutrients on a vegan diet, and iron where there is iron deficiency anaemia. Collagen appears nowhere in it, and the NHS has no page on it.1, 2, 3 It has said nothing: its supplement advice is built around deficiency and life stage, and the NHS osteoarthritis page lists exercise, weight management and pain relief rather than any food.4
Can you get collagen on prescription?
No. Collagen peptides are a food supplement under the Food Supplements (England) Regulations 2003; a GP cannot prescribe one.9
What do GPs and dietitians say about collagen?
Many GPs and dietitians call the evidence for collagen early or mixed, for fair reasons: most trials were small, the skin trials ran for two to twelve weeks, and the outcomes were instrument readings and self-reported comfort.5 Most skin trials were run or funded by peptide manufacturers; in a 2025 meta-analysis of 23 trials the benefit was significant overall but not in the subgroup without industry funding, nor in the high-quality subgroup, a gap in the evidence rather than a finding against collagen.17
A 2023 meta-analysis of 26 randomised trials with 1,721 participants found collagen peptides improved measured skin hydration and elasticity against placebo.5 A 2026 umbrella review of 16 systematic reviews, 113 trials and 7,983 participants found the evidence favourable for skin and for muscle, bone and joint outcomes.10 In a twelve-month trial of 131 postmenopausal women, 5 g a day increased bone mineral density at the spine and femoral neck while the control group's fell slightly.7 In 139 active adults, 5 g a day for twelve weeks reduced activity-related knee pain more than placebo, and a 2024 analysis of 35 randomised trials in 3,165 people with osteoarthritis found small to moderate reductions in pain and improvements in function, with no increase in adverse events.6, 8
A UK study of 39 young men found 15 g of collagen peptides a day during fifteen weeks of resistance training made no difference to tendon size or stiffness, while a 2026 network meta-analysis of 78 trials ranked collagen first among protein supplements for strength gains with training.11, 18 A one-year trial in 208 adults over 65 found collagen protein without training did not improve muscle size, strength or function.12 A 2025 trial in 68 people with knee osteoarthritis found a combined collagen product no better than placebo over twelve weeks.13 These are the studies behind the word "mixed", a reason to be precise about outcome, dose and duration. The Wellgard collagen guide takes each outcome in turn.
Why can no UK collagen supplement make a health claim?
No health claim for collagen is authorised in Great Britain.14 The register records that the collagen claims assessed in 2011 and 2013 did not meet the regulation's tests: the joint evidence was judged not substantiated on the studies then available, and skin elasticity and wrinkles were ruled not to be a body function.15 That is a fact about the register, not a finding of no effect, and every meta-analysis above was published later. No collagen product sold in Great Britain, Wellgard's included, may say it improves skin or joints; the trials are reported here as evidence.
What does the NHS say that is relevant to collagen?
The Eatwell Guide puts protein foods in every day's eating, and collagen is a protein.16 The authorised claim that vitamin C contributes to normal collagen formation is on the GB register, and the NHS vitamin C page lists the same tissues.14, 16 For skin, NHS advice is shade, factor 30 sunscreen and not smoking;16 for joints and bone it is exercise, and the knee and tendon trials of collagen ran in active or training adults.4, 6, 11 The benefits of collagen powder has the trial outcomes.
Is collagen safe to take if the NHS does not recommend it?
Yes, for most people, because it is a food protein. In the randomised trials, side effects were no more frequent with collagen peptides than with placebo.8 The cautions are those of any protein food: moderate servings if you form calcium-oxalate kidney stones, count it as protein on a restricted-protein diet, and take it after the levothyroxine gap, like breakfast; in pregnancy and breastfeeding there is no trial. Is there a downside to taking collagen covers each group, with collagen in pregnancy and collagen with thyroid medication.
Should you take collagen if your GP is unsure?
Decide on the trial evidence rather than the NHS list: for the outcomes the trials measured, skin hydration and elasticity, activity-related knee comfort and bone density after the menopause, the evidence is favourable within the limits above. The trials used 2.5 to 15 g a day for two weeks to a year;5, 7, 11 how much collagen to take a day maps dose to outcome.
What we don't know
Whether the skin effect holds without industry funding: in the 2025 meta-analysis the subgroup without such funding showed no significant effect, a gap in the evidence rather than a finding against collagen.17 Whether collagen peptides change tendon or muscle in people who are not training: the UK tendon trial and the one-year trial in older adults found no difference.11, 12
Frequently asked questions
Is collagen just hype?
No: collagen has more than a hundred randomised trials and several meta-analyses, favourable for skin, joint and bone outcomes and mixed for muscle and tendon; what the collagen trials measured goes through them.10, 11, 12, 18
Is it recommended to take collagen before surgery?
Ask your surgical team. We found no trial of collagen supplements before an operation; the nearest clinical use is pressure ulcers, where a 2024 Cochrane review rated one trial of 74 people as moderate-certainty evidence that collagen supplements reduce ulcer area, dietetic use rather than a consumer benefit.19 The NHS pre-operative assessment asks about all the medicines, vitamins and herbal supplements you take and says whether to stop them; list collagen.20
Why is collagen not recommended by the NHS?
Because NHS supplement advice covers deficiency and life stage, and no collagen health claim is authorised on the GB register, a fact about the register rather than a verdict on the later trials.14, 15
Sources
- NHS. Vitamins and minerals: overview; iron (both last reviewed 3 August 2020, review overdue); vitamins for children (page last reviewed 30 May 2024). nhs.uk; nhs.uk; nhs.uk.
- NHS. Vitamin D. Page last reviewed 3 August 2020 (review overdue). nhs.uk.
- NHS. B vitamins and folic acid (page last reviewed 3 August 2020, review overdue); the vegan diet (page last reviewed 5 June 2026). nhs.uk; nhs.uk.
- NHS. Osteoarthritis: treatment and support. Page last reviewed 20 March 2023 (review overdue). nhs.uk.
- Pu SY, et al. Effects of oral collagen for skin anti-aging: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Nutrients, 2023. Pooled analysis, 26 randomised trials, 1,721 people, 2 to 12 weeks; no conflicts declared. PubMed 37432180.
- Zdzieblik D, et al. Improvement of activity-related knee joint discomfort following supplementation of specific collagen peptides. Applied Physiology, Nutrition, and Metabolism, 2017. Placebo-controlled trial, 139 active adults, 5 g a day, 12 weeks; manufacturer-linked author. PubMed 28177710.
- König D, et al. Specific collagen peptides improve bone mineral density and bone markers in postmenopausal women: a randomized controlled study. Nutrients, 2018. Placebo-controlled trial, 131 postmenopausal women, 5 g a day, 12 months; manufacturer-linked author. PubMed 29337906.
- Liang CW, et al. Efficacy and safety of collagen derivatives for osteoarthritis: a trial sequential meta-analysis. Osteoarthritis and Cartilage, 2024. Pooled analysis, 35 randomised trials, 3,165 people with osteoarthritis; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 38218227.
- The Food Supplements (England) Regulations 2003, SI 2003/1387, checked 29 October 2026. legislation.gov.uk.
- Ravindran R, et al. Collagen supplementation for skin and musculoskeletal health: an umbrella review of meta-analyses. Aesthetic Surgery Journal Open Forum, 2026. Umbrella review, 16 systematic reviews, 113 randomised trials, 7,983 people; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 41809116.
- Balshaw TG, et al. Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise, 2023. Placebo-controlled trial, 39 young men, 15 g a day, 15 weeks of resistance training; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 37436929.
- Mertz KH, et al. The effect of daily protein supplementation, with or without resistance training for 1 year, on muscle size, strength, and function in healthy older adults: a randomized controlled trial. American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, 2021. Randomised trial, 208 adults over 65, 12 months; one author employed by a dairy ingredients company. PubMed 33564844.
- Yuenyongviwat V, et al. Efficacy of combined undenatured type II collagen and hydrolysed collagen supplementation in knee osteoarthritis: a randomised controlled trial. Scientific Reports, 2025. Placebo-controlled trial, 68 people with knee osteoarthritis, 12 weeks; no competing interests declared. PubMed 40897777.
- Department of Health and Social Care. Great Britain nutrition and health claims (NHC) register, page last updated 19 May 2026. gov.uk.
- EFSA NDA Panel. Scientific opinions on collagen hydrolysate and maintenance of joints (2011) and on a collagen peptide mixture and skin (2013). doi.org/10.2903/j.efsa.2011.2291; doi.org/10.2903/j.efsa.2013.3257.
- NHS. Eating a balanced diet (page last reviewed 30 June 2026); vitamin C (page last reviewed 3 August 2020, review overdue); sunscreen and sun safety (page last reviewed 24 March 2026); quit smoking. nhs.uk; nhs.uk; nhs.uk; nhs.uk.
- Myung SK, Park Y. Effects of collagen supplements on skin aging: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. American Journal of Medicine, 2025. Pooled analysis, 23 randomised trials, 1,474 people, subgroups by funding and quality; funding not stated on PubMed. PubMed 40324552.
- Drummond MDM, et al. Which protein-based dietary supplements most effectively enhance fat-free mass and strength gains in healthy adults undergoing resistance training? A network meta-analysis. Translational Sports Medicine, 2026. Network meta-analysis, 78 trials, 4,755 adults in resistance training; no conflicts declared. PubMed 41635649.
- Langer G, et al. Nutritional interventions for preventing and treating pressure ulcers. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2024. Cochrane review, 33 randomised trials, 7,920 people; the collagen result rests on one trial of 74; no conflicts declared. PubMed 38345088.
- NHS. Having an operation (surgery): preparation. Page last reviewed 9 July 2024. nhs.uk.
Spotted something out of date? Email support@wellgard.co.uk with the page address and the sentence.
This article is general information, not medical advice. If you have kidney disease, form kidney stones, take levothyroxine or are pregnant, speak to your GP or pharmacist before adding any supplement.